Hello and Question

Moderators: William Anderson, letumgo

jcrumbacher

Hello and Question

Post by jcrumbacher » Wed Mar 04, 2009 12:20 pm

Hello All,

I'm new to this forum and this is my first post. I became passionate about fishing traditional spiders and soft hackles about a year and a half ago. I'm a grad student in NW PA and mostly fish with wets on the medium sized streams in the Mercer and Lawrence County areas. My home waters are in the Neshannock and Slippery Rock Creek drainages. I'm glad to find a forum dedicated to these flies and this type of fishing. I've been reading a lot of the posts and there is a ton of great info. Please keep up the great work. Also I'd like to thank Mike for creating this great online community.

My first question would be on rods for the traditional North Country and Border techniques (Stewart, Tod, etc..). I'm looking for a 10' rod in a light line weight (3 or 4 wt). I've been looking at the Grey's Streamflex 10' 3wt. Does anyone have any experience casting or fishing this rod? Any comments on rod action or suitability for this style of fishing?

Does anyone have any rod suggestions on this criteria. I know Dorber makes 10' blanks from 1-4 wt (I've heard these are really soft). I thought of buying one and having someone build it for me, but I'm not sure who builds rods in the Western Pennsylvania area.

Any info would be greatly appreciated,
Thanks,
Jay Crumbacher

(P.S.) I'm also interested in joining the International Brotherhood of the Flymph. Any info on going about this?
William Anderson
Site Admin

Re: Hello and Question

Post by William Anderson » Wed Mar 04, 2009 1:16 pm