Ideal Flymph Rig

Moderators: William Anderson, letumgo

Davesnothereman

Ideal Flymph Rig

Post by Davesnothereman » Wed Apr 15, 2009 8:13 pm

Hi everyone! I'm a new member and was curious what the ideal wingless wets setup is in most folks' opinion. Is it necessarily a longer-is-better kind of game? And is 4 the go-to line weight? And lastly, how about action? Is slow to medium more desireable? I'm new to the whole concept and am curious what kind of tackle will yield me best results- that is if tackle choice is really that important. Currently I have an 8'4"wt (med), an 8' 4wt (med-fast), an 8'8" 5wt (med fast), and a 9' 5wt (fast). Do you all think any of those are optimal rods? The truth be told, I'm always looking for excuses to buy more flyfishing stuff! :lol: Thanks!
Soft-hackle
Site Admin

Re: Ideal Flymph Rig

Post by Soft-hackle » Wed Apr 15, 2009 10:44 pm

Hi,
I am positive you will receive much information about this subject, and in my opinion, the answers you will get will be just that-opinions. Everyone has their favorite rig. I will say a few things, here that are my opinion.

You can use almost any weight line as long as it's matched with the rod, of course. People like lighter weights, but a 4, 5, or 6 weight is fine. Use the longest rod you dare for the place you will fish. This gives you more line control by having less line on the water. I feel medium action rods are best for fishing wingless wets, but it is getting more and more difficult to find a good medium action rod- or so it seems. Most rods are fast, nowadays. I really don't like them. They're too stiff for me.

For the most part, a floating line does the job, and under certain conditions (faster deeper water) I like a sinking line, or at least a sink tip to help get the fly down deeper, if that's what you want to do.