LaFontaine's "bubble" & Hidy's "Hydrofuge"

Moderators: William Anderson, letumgo

Soft-hackle
Site Admin

LaFontaine's "bubble" & Hidy's "Hydrofuge"

Post by Soft-hackle » Thu Mar 11, 2010 11:34 pm

Ladies & Gentlemen,
I have long looked for proof of the theory, and in another forum I frequent, there was, posted in a thread on the subject, a link to some great reading and photos that I thought might be of interest to us all. Some of you may have seen this already, but it's my first time. Examine the photos and give opinions. I'm especially interested in the supposed caddis swimming to the surface with the air bubbles.

http://www.flyline.com/tips_trivia/all_that_glitters/

Mark
"I have the highest respect for the skilled wet-fly fisherman, as he has mastered an art of very great difficulty.” Edward R. Hewitt

http://www.libstudio.com/FS&S
William Anderson
Site Admin

Re: LaFontaine's "bubble" & Hidy's "Hydrofuge"

Post by William Anderson » Fri Mar 12, 2010 8:24 am

Mark,

I remember a few years ago there was discussion of something Cutter wrote on the same topic. I can't remember how it all panned out, but I do recall there being quite a divide in the opinions, with good arguments and a very helpful discussion. Anyone else recall that? It was on the OutdoorsBest Fly Fisherman forum. I'm really suprised those are the only known photographic evidence in the history of man. There must have been someone else who has spent some time looking into it. Couldn't you just film an aquarium caddis hatching?

w
"A man should not try to eliminate his complexes, but rather come into accord with them. They are ultimately what directs his conduct in the world." Sigmund Freud.
www.WilliamsFavorite.com
Otter

Post by Otter » Fri Mar 12, 2010 9:01 am