Attempt at Tying in Hand

Moderators: William Anderson, letumgo

Liam

Attempt at Tying in Hand

Post by Liam » Thu Mar 26, 2009 7:28 pm

I decided to put this under tying rather than dressings because the dressing is fairly traditional, while the technique is one not often employed. By technique I am referring to tying "in hand". After watching "The Lost World of Mr. Hardy" which features Ken Middlemist tying full dress Atlantic salmon flies entirely in hand, I was inspired to try doing this (not salmon flies!) myself. I was pleased to find that it is not as difficult as it would seem and some aspects are actually easier without the vise. I tied two flies before this in this manner, but this is my first attempt at tying a fly in a size and dressing I would actually fish. As always comments, criticism or insight are appreciated. I honestly used for tools only hackle pliers, scissors, and bobbin. To do it in the real traditional way, even the bobbin should not be used.

Snow Partridge and Orange
Sprite Perfect International #12
Hot Orange Pearsall's
Snow Partridge
Gray Possum
Liam

Re: Attempt at Tying in Hand

Post by Liam » Thu Mar 26, 2009 8:15 pm

Thanks Mike. The "bobbin" which I will now call a "bobbin-holder" actually does seem to get in the way. Like many things I only called it that because that is what I have been taught it is called! In these early attempts I have relied on it simply because of the tension it puts on the thread for tying off, etc. I actually have really enjoyed tying this way and any insight I can get on this modality would be greatly appreciated.
Liam

Post by Liam » Fri Mar 27, 2009 3:59 pm

Mike- I greatly appreciate all the time and effort you put into helping all of us learn something. You are quite generous with the information that you have acquired and I, for one, am indebted.