Semperfli pure silk... Very photo heavy ;)

Moderators: William Anderson, letumgo

fly_fischa

Semperfli pure silk... Very photo heavy ;)

Post by fly_fischa » Sun Jul 09, 2017 10:43 pm

Hi all, as you all know pearsalls looks like it will be hard to come by in the very near future :cry: as mentioned in Jim's post. I'm a Semperfli pro tier and have recently experimented with Semperfli's pure silk and thought I would post my findings.
A few things to note are that I normally don't use a dubbing block and this is only my second time I've spun bodies on my Clarks dubbing block. You may have a different experience than me but this is simply my unscientific unbiased experiment that might spark some thought or debate, so please don't be shy.

Here are a few different ropes I spun up a few days back...
Left to right, semperfli puresilk orange/muskrat, semperfli puresilk purple/coyote, semperfli puresilk pale olive/camel, semperfli puresilk pale olive/gray awesome possum, semperfli puresilk pale olive/cream awesome possum

Some closeups;

Some more spun bodies using both pearsalls primrose (left/thinner) and Semperfli pure silk (right/thicker)

As you’ll have noticed by the last photos compared to Pearsalls Gossamer it’s a lot thicker! In terms of using it for this application, I’d say I personally wouldn’t tie anything smaller than a 14.

I treated the pure silk exactly the same as my pearsalls experiments in the past, used the same wax and ended up carding and leaving the bodies carded for 1-2days. I found that the thread ends of pure silk unravelled a lot more than Pearsalls, so much so I’m not sure there’s much advantage to waiting a day before using the bodies?