Jim Slattery Demonstrating Leisenring Dubbing Technique

Moderators: William Anderson, letumgo

letumgo
Site Admin

Jim Slattery Demonstrating Leisenring Dubbing Technique

Post by letumgo » Sat Nov 29, 2014 8:52 pm

Here is a link to a new YouTube video I uploaded today. I shot this video footage of Jim Slattery, demonstrating the process of forming a dubbed silk body for a flymph. Jim did his demonstration while we were at his place, during the Flymph Forum gathering earlier this summer. Jim is forming the dubbed body on his pants leg, just like Jim Leisenring used to do it.

Pause the video at different points to read about the detailed tying steps.

Bravo Jim! Sorry it has taken me this long to process the video. The file was HUGE, so it has taken me a while to get it uploaded and then to add the annotations. I've never done this before, so there was quite a bit of learning involved.

Enjoy...
Ray (letumgo)----<°))))))><
http://www.flytyingforum.com/index.php? ... er=letumgo

"The world is perfect. Appreciate the details." - Dean
William Anderson
Site Admin

Re: Jim Slattery Demonstrating Leisenring Dubbing Technique

Post by William Anderson » Sat Nov 29, 2014 10:33 pm

Another treasure of a resource and a fun reminder of that night getting to tie with Jim and the gang at the cafe. Thank you for putting this up. Nicely done.
"A man should not try to eliminate his complexes, but rather come into accord with them. They are ultimately what directs his conduct in the world." Sigmund Freud.
www.WilliamsFavorite.com
DOUGSDEN

Post by DOUGSDEN » Sat Nov 29, 2014 10:40 pm

Jim,
Excellent video clip! How in the world can you tie without a bobbin? You are demonstrating the old way of tying and I find that fascinating and great to watch! It was good to see you again Jim "in person". Who was that character in the background towards the end of the sequence?
Top notch Ray as always!
Dougsden
Fish when you can, not when you should! Anything short of this is just a disaster.