letumgo
Site Admin

Experimenting With Underwater Fly Photography

Post by letumgo » Sat Feb 21, 2009 10:09 pm

2009_0213_222750AA.JPG
2009_0213_222750AA.JPG (126.36 KiB) Viewed 10344 times
2009_0213_222928AA.JPG
2009_0213_222928AA.JPG (91.46 KiB) Viewed 10341 times
I've been thinking about photographing flies under water for some time and decided to give it a try today. This is my first attempt at photographing a soft hackle fly under water. The fly was photographed in a small plastic storage container filled with water. The fly is suspended from a fine piece of copper wire that I could bend and hold in place. The camera used (Pentax Optio W30) is submerged under water and in macro mode. I'm still trying to get the hang of getting the focus distance just right, but this method seems to be promising.

I love how the fibers of the fly capture little bubbles of air and there is a bubble on the back of the thorax.
Ray (letumgo)----<°))))))><
http://www.flytyingforum.com/index.php? ... er=letumgo

"The world is perfect. Appreciate the details." - Dean
Ron Eagle Elk

Re: Experimenting With Underwater Fly Photography

Post by Ron Eagle Elk » Sun Feb 22, 2009 1:08 am

Very nice, Ray. Great fly as well as great photography.
"A man may smile and bid you hale yet curse you to the devil, but when a good dog wags his tail he is always on the level"
tie2fish

Post by tie2fish » Sun Feb 22, 2009 9:29 am

Excellent, Ray! I've been hoping someone would find a way to show how our creations actually look to the wee fishies. The next step, I suppose, would be to have a tank with the water actually circulating to create movement.
Some of the same morons who throw their trash around in National parks also vote. That alone would explain the state of American politics. ~ John Gierach, "Still Life with Brook Trout"
5feathers

Post by 5feathers » Sun Feb 22, 2009 10:12 am

Cool photo and great idea. It's nice to see how the barbules hold water bubbles.
Bruce
John Dunn