New member from NW Ireland

Moderators: William Anderson, letumgo

Troutmaddave

New member from NW Ireland

Post by Troutmaddave » Sat Jun 20, 2015 2:04 am

Hi good folks of the forum!
My name is dave and I live, work and fish in county sligo in the rep of Ireland. Born in UK in 1965. Stonemason by trade. I have been fly fishing 3 years now and tying for about a year. County sligo is a great county for fishing containing several great rivers and small streams. The Ballysadare river, unchin, owenmore and the river Moy are all within 20 mins drive from my house.
I tie and fish mainly NC spiders in the mountain streams near my house with my trusty 7' 3 weight split cane rod. Couples with a hardy viscount 140 and a Barrio DT fly line.
I am really passionate about the spiders, easy to tie and very effective, there is just something about their simplicity that I love. Looking at some of the flies tied on here reminds me theat I have a lifetime of learning ahead of me
Tight lines
Dave
GONE FISHING
tie2fish

Re: New member from NW Ireland

Post by tie2fish » Sat Jun 20, 2015 6:28 am

Welcome to the Flymphforum, Dave. New members, especially those from abroad are always good to see. Your description of the region where you live is intriguing -- perhaps you will share some photos your favorite waters? Please don't be shy about contributing.
Some of the same morons who throw their trash around in National parks also vote. That alone would explain the state of American politics. ~ John Gierach, "Still Life with Brook Trout"
DUBBN

Post by DUBBN » Sat Jun 20, 2015 7:09 am

Welcome Dave. I hope we hear some adventures on the stream from your corner of the globe.
crazy4oldcars

Post by crazy4oldcars » Sat Jun 20, 2015 8:05 am

Hello, Dave!
A hearty welcome from Southeast Texas. I look forward to seeing what you have share. We're always glad to see new faces.

Kirk
letumgo
Site Admin

Post by letumgo » Sat Jun 20, 2015 8:28 am