light reflection

Moderators: William Anderson, letumgo

Fishnkilts

light reflection

Post by Fishnkilts » Wed Jul 01, 2020 10:36 pm

I have learned a long time ago that light penetrating through the water column reacts differently with certain flies.
For example if it's a cloudy day, darker, bland colored nymphs on the bottom of your rig works best because the light hitting the bottom of the river isn't as bright as it is in the higher water column. On bright days, you would want to brighten up the flies to get some kind reflection happening.

So in the morning, it's good to have a dull fly on the bottom with maybe a brighter fly above it. As the day goes on and the sun becomes brighter, you may want to put brighter flies on your rig to get reflection on multiple layers of the water column.

Since I'm fairly new to flymphs, I was thinking if I were to use a darker colored nymph on the bottom of my rig, with a flymph above it, what kind of patterns are out there that I could tie that have some kind of sparkle for brighter days to reflect the light better as it floats higher in the water column?
letumgo
Site Admin

Re: light reflection

Post by letumgo » Wed Jul 01, 2020 10:47 pm

Have you looked thru the flies in Pete Hidy’s fly wallet? I think there are several brighter patterns to play around with.

viewtopic.php?f=16&t=6813&start=20#p100442
Ray (letumgo)----<°))))))><
http://www.flytyingforum.com/index.php? ... er=letumgo

"The world is perfect. Appreciate the details." - Dean
Fishnkilts

Post by Fishnkilts » Wed Jul 01, 2020 10:49 pm

letumgo wrote: Wed Jul 01, 2020 10:47 pm Have you looked thru the flies in Pete Hidy’s fly wallet? I think there are several brighter patterns to play around with.

viewtopic.php?f=16&t=6813&start=20#p100442
No I haven't. Thank you for the link.
Mike62

Post by Mike62 » Thu Jul 02, 2020 6:38 am

This thread reminds me that it would be a good time to go back and read 'Sunshine and the Dry Fly' again.
BrkTrt