Tying Station Design...Layout

Moderators: William Anderson, letumgo

William Anderson
Site Admin

Tying Station Design...Layout

Post by William Anderson » Thu Nov 18, 2010 1:35 pm

I would love to see everyone's tying area's/stations/desks. I'll post mine to start this off.

DD asked for additional shots of my tying station...which I feel is a bit self indulgent posting...but I'll do it for a friend. :D I am proud of the current station...after lots of transformations and testing. I'm a designer and the ergonomics and efficiency/joy of my station is important. So...

This station has changed a lot. I drill holes and then plug them to move stuff around. I glue on corks and magnets, tear them off and rearrange them if I find a better sequence of movements...or a new tool. So here it is. You can see all the sticks in the upper deck move with each session. I have to store all my stuff away in an armoire and put it on the coffee table to tie, so it can take a second to set up. That's a large factor in the design. I need to have as many materials on the station (out of all the plastic bins that are organized in the armoire) so I only have to bring it out...and not have to go back. Tools are added and rearranged, but have a very very specific home. I sometimes hook completed flies in the tops of the corks on stick in the upper deck, and sometimes on little magnets glued to little pins that stick in the cork on the base level.

The materials are actually a laminate of 2" thick solid hardwoods, planed smooth. The upper deck is a piece of cherry, suspended by two steel bars on the back.
I've tried some fancy designs and some that are clever...but this straight forward design works better for me.
William - tying station reduced 01a.jpg
William - tying station reduced 01b.jpg
Last edited by William Anderson on Thu Nov 18, 2010 1:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.