New member intro and I need some advise

Moderators: William Anderson, letumgo

fly_fischa

New member intro and I need some advise

Post by fly_fischa » Mon Nov 09, 2009 9:22 pm

Hi All,

Thought I’d introduce myself, I didn’t know where to post this so hopefully it’s not in the wrong place?

I live in Sydney Australia, been tying flies for 15+yrs and making bamboo rods for 2.5yrs. I mainly fish for trout and try to get to the south island NZ at least once a year.

I am a complete newbie :oops: to tying wingless wets and was put onto this site by a member on another forum who initially inspired me to tie soft hackles.

After my first attempt and some feedback this is my second crack at it and I would love to get some advise?

For this particular pattern I am finding it difficult to tie off the peacock herl (2-3 turns) without getting an unsightly thread build up or at least the thread showing. You’ll see what I mean in the 1st pic, I am happier with the 2nd go at it. Any suggestions?

Keeping the hackle clean with no thread showing through is proving to be a bit of a challenge. I am tying off the hackle with 3 thread turns and winding 3-4 turns forward through the hackle to reinforce it as suggested in Dave Hughes book. Do any of you do this or is this where I am coming unstuck?

Sorry for waffling on, I look forward to contributing to the forum in future when my soft hackle tying improves. :)

Unsightly head/thread prob

Happy with this one
Last edited by fly_fischa on Tue Nov 10, 2009 5:19 am, edited 1 time in total.
Jim Slattery
Site Admin

Re: New member intro and I need some advise

Post by Jim Slattery » Mon Nov 09, 2009 9:46 pm

Hi Fly Fischa.
Looks like you nailed the second fly , the first fly is really nice actually.