Beginner's flymph

Moderators: William Anderson, letumgo

IronBlue

Beginner's flymph

Post by IronBlue » Fri Jan 13, 2012 12:27 am

The fly dressings posted here and on Hans's site are incredible. Far beyond anything I can do. I am relatively new to this, so advice is welcome. Like, I shoulda gone two turns of hackle instead of three; and I need to learn how to make the wire wrap evenly. However, I actually like flies that are a little messy looking –– not too perfect.
At this point I am just interested in tying plain flymphs, nothing too complicated. Hard enough to get this kind of pattern down, and I haven't come very close yet.

If anybody has a better name for this critter, let me know!

DRAB FLYMPH
Hook, 16 Daiichi 1740 Up-eye Wet/Nymph
Thread, Primrose gossamer silk
Hackle, Ashey hen with ginger tips
Body, Hare's poll and a little mole on primrose silk
Tail, Lemon Wood Duck
Rib, silver wire
Attachments
DrabFlymph.jpg
DrabFlymph.jpg (240.33 KiB) Viewed 3547 times
willowhead

Re: Beginner's flymph

Post by willowhead » Fri Jan 13, 2012 1:02 am

It's very very nice I.B., and will certaintly catch fish just as is. i can tell in one look you have everything it takes (technically), to excell as a fly tyer............all it takes is time at the vise, and HEART! The harder and more you work, the sooner it'll come. Pretty simple actually. ;) So go for it. :D How bout you call it Grab/Bag instead of drab........? :lol: LOVE that tail. 8-)
Learn to see with your ears and hear with your eyes
CAUSE, it don't mean a thing, if it aint got that swing.....

http://www.pureartflytying.ning.com
Mataura mayfly

Post by Mataura mayfly » Fri Jan 13, 2012 1:09 am

Ironblue,
Looks to be the perfect kind of "drab" to suit our brown trout. They don't get over excited by flash colours or synthetics like rainbow will.
Nice tie, thanks for sharing it.
"Listen to the sound of the river and you will get a trout".... Irish proverb.
Old Hat

Post by Old Hat » Fri Jan 13, 2012 1:16 am